Selected to serve on the federal Negotiated Rulemaking Committee, Teaching Policy Fellowship alumna and 2016 Massachusetts Teacher of the Year Audrey Jackson became one of the 24 education experts from around the nation tasked with setting the implementation guidelines for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). One of only three teachers on the committee and the only teacher to serve as a voting member, Audrey, a fifth-grade inclusion teacher at the Joseph P. Manning School, a Title I school in Boston, worked to develop regulations around the ESSA TItle I requirement that federal funds supplement and not replace the non-federal funds in high-need schools.  

In Audrey’s words: "As a teacher in an urban, Title 1 school, I know firsthand how important it is for our education system to serve all students equitably. I am honored to have this opportunity to help inform the law's regulations and guidelines in a way that prioritizes equity."