You are here

Meet Our Teacher Leaders

Christhian Saavedra
Senior Fellow
Rogers Heritage High School

Christhian Saavedra is a 2021-2022 Teach Plus Arkansas Senior Policy Fellow and the Student Success Coordinator at Rogers Heritage High School in Rogers. Christhian mentors novice teachers through DESE programs and has previously been named Kirksey Middle School Teacher of the Year and Rogers Public Schools Middle School Teacher of the Year. As head coach for the boys soccer team, Christhian has received several coaching awards. He earned his BA in Spanish with a Minor in Ethnographic Studies and his MAT from the University of Arkansas.

Read More
Cade Vallee
Teaching Policy Fellow
East Junior High School

Cade Vallee is a 2021-2022 Teach Plus Arkansas Policy Fellow and a 7-9th grade art teacher at East Junior High School in West Memphis. Cade coached Men’s and Women’s Soccer for the Academies of West Memphis during the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years. Cade is a 3rd year Arkansas Teacher Corps fellow and received his BFA in Studio Art from Henderson State University. 

Read More
Tykeena Watson
Senior Fellow
KIPP Delta Preparatory School

Tykeena Watson is a 2021-2022 Teach Plus Arkansas Senior Policy Fellow who teaches 8th grade Algebra at KIPP Delta Preparatory School in Helena. Tykeena has worked on research around how varying curriculums and implementations affect learning gains and understanding the issues in lower socio-economic areas that contribute to the educational gap in mathematics. A founding member of Helena-West Helena’s Racial Equity Task Force, Tykeena is also an Aspen Young Leaders Fellow (Delta Cohort 2) and Noyce Fellow. She received her BA in Mathematics from Fisk University and recently graduated with her MEd in Secondary Education focusing on Mathematics from Vanderbilt University.

Read More